MINUTES

PLACERVILLE CITY COUNCIL

SPECIAL MEETING

Wednesday, February 15, 2023

4:00 P.M. Open Session

CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS – TOWN HALL 549 MAIN STREET, PLACERVILLE, CA 95667

4:00 P.M. OPEN SESSION

In keeping with the nature of a Special Council Meeting for the purpose of interviewing Planning Commission and Recreation & Parks Commission candidates, it is recommended that the normal order of the Agenda be set aside.

1. CALL TO ORDER & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

The Mayor called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. and The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was recited.

2. <u>ROLL CALL:</u> Present: Clerici, Gotberg, Neau, Saragosa, Yarbrough

3. <u>ANNOUNCEMENTS/PRESENTATIONS TO THE PUBLIC</u>

No announcements/presentations were made.

4. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

The agenda was adopted by unanimous consent.

5. **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

5.1 Interviews for the City of Placerville Planning Commission and Recreation & Parks Commission

Planning Commission: The City received six (6) applications for appointment to the Planning Commission before the final filing deadline of February 10, 2023. Each applicant met the qualification requirements of City Code Section 2-2-3.

Planning Commission Vacancies: Three (3) seats with terms ending March 1, 2027 and one (1) seat with an unexpired term ending March 1, 2025.

The following qualified candidates were present: Ryan Carter, Ted Dziuba, Kris Kiehne, Amy Lepper, and Kirk Smith.

The interviews were conducted in a public interview process with questions posed to each candidate by the City Council. Each candidate was given sufficient time to respond to the questions.

No public comments were received.

At the conclusion of the interviews, each Councilmember completed a voting ballot for the three (3) terms of office ending March 1, 2027. The City Manager and City Clerk tabulated the votes, and the results were read aloud to the public. The three candidates receiving the highest number of votes from at least three Councilmembers were Kris Kiehne, Amy Lepper, and Kirk Smith.

The City Council voted as follows:

Councilmember Clerici:	Lepper, Kiehne, Smith
Councilmember Gotberg:	Lepper, Kiehne, Smith
Councilmember Yarbrough:	Carter, Lepper, Kiehne
Vice-Mayor Neau:	Lepper, Kiehne, Dziuba
Mayor Saragosa:	Lepper, Kiehne, Smith

The City Council then voted for the one (1) unexpired term of office ending March 1, 2025. The City Manager and City Clerk tabulated the votes and the results were read aloud to the public. The one candidate receiving the highest number of votes from at least three Councilmembers was Ryan Carter.

The City Council voted as follows:

Councilmember Clerici:	Carter
Councilmember Gotberg:	Carter
Councilmember Yarbrough:	Carter
Vice-Mayor Neau:	Dziuba
Mayor Saragosa:	Dziuba

The candidates appointed by the City Council took their Oath of Office.

Recreation & Parks Commission: The City received eight (8) applications for appointment to the Recreation & Parks Commission. One applicant was disqualified due to membership requirements of City Code Section 1-9-9.

Recreation & Parks Commission Vacancies: Three (3) seats with terms ending March 1, 2027.

The following qualified candidates were present: Tami Brenton, Paul Godwin, Larissa Lujan, Lynne Spencer, Tony Windle, and Michelle Witt.

The interviews were conducted in a public interview process with questions posed to each candidate by the City Council. Each candidate was given sufficient time to respond to the questions.

No public comments were received.

At the conclusion of the interviews, each Councilmember completed a voting ballot for the three (3) terms of office ending March 1, 2027. The City Manager and City Clerk tabulated the votes, and the results were read aloud to the public. The three candidates receiving the highest number of votes from at least three Councilmembers were Larissa Lujan, Lynne Spencer, and Tony Windle.

The City Council voted as follows:

Councilmember Clerici:	Brenton, Lujan, Spencer
Councilmember Gotberg:	Godwin, Lujan, Windle
Councilmember Yarbrough:	Godwin, Windle, Witt
Vice-Mayor Neau:	Brenton, Spencer, Witt
Mayor Saragosa:	Lujan, Spencer, Windle

The candidates appointed by the City Council took their Oath of Office.

Note: The results of each individual Councilmember's vote will be a matter of public record and will be made available to the public upon request.

6. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u> @ 7:05 p.m.

The next regularly scheduled City Council meeting will be held on February 28, 2023, 4:30 P.M. Closed Session, 5:00 P.M. Regular Meeting.

Regina O'Connell, CPMC, City Clerk